CARROLLTON-FARMERS BRANCH RETIRED SCHOOL PERSONNEL ASSOCIATION

Minutes of May 17, 2017

The meeting, held at Webb Chapel Church of Christ in Farmers Branch, Texas and was called to order by Lee Nitcholas, president at 11:35. Della Swaim introduced guests and asked that everyone respond and complete the online survey.

Judy Thurman and Della Swaim introduced the Lunch Bunch who assist with lunch at each meeting held at the church. They are Celeste Craig, Leola Bracey, Margaret Hook, Carol Sprawls, Nancy Watten and Doyle and Kathy McWhorter. Each received a thank you gift from Judy Thurman.

Della led the U.S. and the State of Texas pledges.

Bert Alexander, Pastor of the host church, welcomed the RSPA group and told of a community outreach opportunity this summer at the Summer Learning Camp to be held on Tuesdays and Thursdays at the church. The volunteers will help with student tutoring.

Doyle McWhorter gave the invocation, followed by lunch.

Treasurer report and minutes are posted on the website. Minutes were approved by committee.

Under Old Business:

- Field Trips Beth Sargent and Linda Frith announced the next field trip will be June 22 to the Texas Rangers baseball game. The cost is \$24 per person.
- Book Project Gail Schwamb announced that approximately 2,100 books will be delivered on Friday, May 19 to five elementary schools.

Under New Business:

- Leta Nelson gave a legislative update on HB3976 which involves funding for TRS Care for retirees.
- Della Swaim announced that Kay Edmondson would receive a \$50 gift certificate for bringing the most new members to C-FB RSPA this year.
- Lee Nitcholas presented the following awards:

Certificate of Appreciation - Bert Alexander for Webb Chapel Church of Christ being host to C-FB RSPA. Silver Star Award – Della Swaim

Volunteer Service Award – Celeste Craig (3,000 hours of service)

TRTA Certificate of Achievement in Healthcare – Joyce Wagoner, Barb Fletcher

21st Century Award – Judy Carey, Lyn Abercrombie, Pat Enlow

Appreciation Award – Janet Truett, Linda Tole, Kay Justus

ABCD Award – Kay Edmondson, Beth Sargent, Gail Schwamb, Mary Eisenmann, Judy Thurman, Debbie Moss

President's Award – Kathy McWhorter, Linda Bambina, Donna Wright, Linda Frith, Suzi Urban, Nichie Hoskins, and Leta Nelson

Pat Enlow introduced the guest speaker, Dr. Thalia Matherson, District 10 President. After a short speech, Dr. Matherson installed the officers for the 2017-2018 year. The officers are:

President – Della Swaim

1st Vice President – Wanda Patterson

2nd Vice President – Pat Enlow

Treasurer – Judy Carey

Secretary – Janet Truett

Door Prizes were distributed by Bill Nitcholas, Bob Mora and Jim Lara.

Announcements:

- Items collected at the meeting for Metrocrest Services numbered 88 items and \$235 in cash.
- Sunshine Kathy McWhorter asked that she be notified of any member who needs to have cards sent from the Sunshine Committee.

The meeting was adjourned at 1:24.

Janet Truett Secretary